DC Gives Away Prizes to Winners of Travel Writing Contest 2019.

Publish Date : 04/10/2019


Aalo 3rd October: – Writers Shri Daniel Sequeira from Mumbai, Shri Nishant Sinha from Guwahati, Ms. Tojum Riba from Itanagar, Dr. Mrs Tsering Wangmo from Imphal and Tania Louis from Mumbai bagged the first, 2nd 3rd 4th and fifth prizes for online Travel Writing Contest on the topic “Experiences from any unexplored destination in West Siang and Shi-Yomi district”€. The West Siang Deputy Commissioner Smti Swetika Sachan gave away the prizes of Rs.35, 000, Rs. 25,000, 15,000 and Rs. 5000 each along with certificates to all winners at an Award Giving Ceremony commemorating Gandhi Jayanti and Paryatan Parv at Hotel West Aalo on 2nd Oct.
This Travel Writing Contest was conducted by the West Siang Tourism department under the supervision of West Siang district administration and altogether 18 writers from various parts of the country who were associated with the districts in past took part in the contest. The DC and DFO Abhinav Kumar lauded the keen interest shown by the writers across the country and such writing highlight the tourism potential in the district. The District Tourism Officer T.K. Kopak highlighted the detail objectives behind conducting such contest and expressed his gratitude to all for making it a maiden successful event in the district.
The prize winning writers not only wrote on the environment, food styles and places but shared their rich experiences with gathering.